For a set period of time, you could use the app, free of charge, before being charged the monthly or yearly subscription.
Here are a few things to keep in mind about free trials:
- The developer sets the trial length. A prompt during the sign-up process will let you know just how long that is.
- Once the trial is over, the App Store will automatically charge your Apple ID’s default payment method.
- Going forward, the subscription will auto-renew based on the app’s subscription model.
According to Apple, if you decide to cancel a free or discounted subscription, it’s best to do so more than 24 hours before your renewal date, because otherwise you could still be charged.
The process amounts to opening the Settings app then selecting your name > iTunes & App Store > Apple ID > View Apple ID > Subscriptions.
Next, select the app you want to cancel a free-trial subscription to and follow the prompts.
The best part? Your free trial doesn’t end the second you cancel it. You can continue to use the trial until your renewal date, and if you change your mind, sign back up for the paid subscription.